Special announcement from FLDOH

Beginning January 2018, Florida Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact has taken effect. Here are some things to know:

  • Registered Nurses (RN) and Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN) who hold licensure in one Compact state can practice in any of the 27 Compact states without having to obtain additional licenses. 
  • It will only affect RNs or LPNs in Florida.
  • To switch to this type of license, apply here.
  • You can track multiple licenses in your current CE Broker account.

Below are the standard renewal requirements for Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners, Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses in Florida.

General: 20 Hours
These hours may be live or self-study. They can be taken from a Florida Board approved provider, nationally approved provider or a provider that has been approved by another state's Board of Nursing. For example: approved by a National Nursing Association such as ANCC.

Medical Errors: 2 Hours
Must be taken from a Florida Board of Nursing-approved Provider.

Laws and Rules: 2 Hours
Must be taken from a Florida Board of Nursing-approved provider. 

Domestic Violence: 2 Hours
This requirement is due once every 3rd biennium and is in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal. for clarification, click here.

HIV/AIDS: 1 Hour
This requirement must be board approved. This is a one-time requirement prior to the first renewal

Pro Tip: A course approved by a state or national nursing organization can count towards your license, with the exception of Domestic Violence, Medical Errors and HIV/AIDS courses, which must be from a Nursing Board-approved provider.
Want an easier way to track what CE is required for your renewal?

Receive a personal CE Transcript when you sign up for a Professional Account. A CE Transcript is a clear list of what CE you have completed and what is left to complete.

Get a 7-day free trial

Did this answer your question?